God and Types of his Devotees

Satsangs or religious congregations are part of Indian culture. We see it happening in every other city or village of the country. In such a crowd of religious congregation, out of thousands of people you may find very few who are true seekers of God, who has a true knowledge of God and maybe only one who has seen God & is a True Saint. So there is a rare person who has seen God & who live in true bliss of God.

Devotees are of different types. Some remember God when they are in distress & want to get rid of their grief. Some want to know God due to their inquisitiveness about Him. Some pray God to attain wealth in life while some wise men want to have true knowledge of God. As per Bhagwat Gita there are 4 types of devotees of God.

1) First one being those who remember and call God when in distress. Such people devote themselves to God because they wish to be liberated from grief.

2) The second group of people is those who want to know about God. Such people have faith in God and because of their inquisitiveness, debate about the God, read books etc. to know more about God.

3) The third being those who want to gain wealth in life. They would go to temples etc. praying to God to give them wealth, money etc. Such people do their appointed task for money because doing it will bring good fortune to them. So such people are the doers of selfish action in life.

4) Fourth group being one’s seeking the true knowledge. Such people are really the wise men. They have true knowledge to God. They are the realized sages, who have attained to the stage of reaching the supreme goal.

In Bhagwat Gita also the Great Lord, Shree Krishna says the same about this matter. Below are the verses of Bhagawat Gita which explain about the same.

"Manush-yanam sahes-tresu kashchid yatati siddhyaye
yat-taam api siddhanam kashchin mam vetti tatvatah"

“Sri Krishna said: O Arjuna, Of thousands of men some rare soul strives to realize Me & endeavour for perfection, and of those striving Yogis, again, someone rare one (devoting himself exclusively to Me) knows Me in reality."

"chatur-vidha bhajante mam janah sukritino ’rjuna
arto jijnasur artharthi jnani cha bharatarsabha"

"Sri Krishna said: O Arjuna, four kinds of pious men begin to render devotional service unto Me—the distressed, the inquisitive, the desirer of wealth, and the one who is searching for knowledge of the Absolute."

"udarah sarva evaite jnani tv atmaiva me matam
asthitah sa hi yuktatma mam evanuttamam gatim"

"Sri Krishna said: All these devotees are undoubtedly magnanimous souls, but he who is situated in knowledge of Me, I consider being just like My own self. Being engaged in My transcendental service, he/she is sure to attain Me, the highest and most perfect goal."

So just check, which type of devotee of God are you. Our aim should be to thrive for the fourth group, the person who wants to search for the true knowledge and gain the same. To become the wise one! And to achieve this we need to devote ourself to God, read religious literature, join the company of saintly people, and give charities, alms to the people. Doing all such good works & having a yearning for God, we shall certainly become a wise person, a true devotee of God & shall ultimately attain to Him.

No comments:

Post a Comment